Gems in Brittle Pages

Awhile ago, I found a gorgeous collection of poems in a lonely little book at a thrift store.  It is called Poems That Touch the Heart, and is personally autographed by the compiler, A.L. Alexander.  Its pages are brown and brittle, but the poems inside have meant so much to me and have been such lovely jewels for the day.  Today, I thought I would share a few of my favorites….and maybe I’ll share some of the other gems at a later time.  Hopefully you enjoy these as much as I do!

 

ship

Faith (my absolute favorite poem from this book)

“I will not doubt, though all my ships at sea

Come drifting home with broken masts and sails;

I shall believe the Hand which never fails,

From seeming evil worketh good to me;

And, though I weep because those sails are battered,

Still will I cry, while my best hopes lie shattered,

‘I trust in Thee’.

I will not doubt, though all my prayers return

Unanswered from the still, white realm above;

I shall believe it is an all-wise Love

Which has refused those things for which I yearn;

And though, at times, I cannot keep from grieving,

Yet the pure ardor of my fixed believing

Undimmed shall burn.

I will not doubt, though sorrows fall like rain,

And troubles swarm like bees about a hive;

I shall believe the heights for which I strive,

Are only reached by anguish and by pain;

And, though I groan and tremble with my crosses,

I yet shall see, through my severest losses,

The greater gain.

I will not doubt; well anchored in the faith,

Like some stanch ship, my soul braves every gale,

So strong its courage that it will not fail

To breast the mighty, unknown sea of death.

Oh, may I cry when body parts with spirit,

‘I do not doubt’, so listening worlds my hear it

With my last breath.” -Ella Wheeler Wilcox

 

journey-screen-seven

‘Tis a Little Journey

” ‘Tis a little journey

This we walk;

Hardly time for murmurs-

Time for talk.

Yet we learn to quarrel

And to hate;

Afterward regret it

When too late.

Now and then ’tis sunshine-

Sometimes dark;

Sometimes care and sorrow

Leave their mark.

Yet we walk the pathway

Side by side;

Where so many others

Lived and died.

We can see the moral,

Understand;

Yet we walk not always

Hand in hand.

Why must there be hatred?

Greed and strife?

Do we need such shadows

Here in life?” – Author Unknown

 

Girl-Praying-Roberto-Ferruzzi

A Prayer For Every Day

“Make me too brave to lie or be unkind.

Make me too understanding, too, to mind

The little hurts companions give, and friends,

The careless hurts that no one quite intends.

Make me too thoughtful to hurt others so.

Help me to know

The inmost hearts of those for whom I care,

Their secret wishes, all the loads they bear,

That I may add my courage to their own.

May I make lonely folks feel less alone,

And happier ones a little happier yet.

May I forget

What ought to be forgotten; and recall,

Unfailing, all

That ought to be recalled, each kindly thing,

Forgetting what might sting.

To all upon my way,

Day after day,

Let me be joy, be hope!  Let my life sing!” -Mary Carolyn Davies

 

 

gates

Three Gates of Gold

“If you are tempted to reveal

A tale to you someone has told

About another, make it pass,

Before you speak, three gates of gold;

Theses narrow gates.  First, ‘Is it true?’

Then, ‘Is it needful?’  In your mind

Give truthful answer.  And the next

Is last and narrowest, ‘Is it kind?’

And if to reach your lips at last

It passes through these gateways three,

Then you may tell the tale, nor fear

What the result of speech may be.” -Beth Day

 

Drop A Note!

